Skip to content

Masochist is My Middle Name

April 13, 2010

Another CFFB workout today.  This time it left me soul-wrenchingly achey by the end.  Here it is:

  • Deadlift to 5RM – 125kg (new personal record!)
  • Max rounds in 15 minutes of: (completed 10)
    • 10 supine ring pullups
    • 10 pushups
    • 10 15kg plate slams

Coming off of 2 beer and pastry soaked weeks in Europe and lifting a personal record 5RM deadlift is a little astounding (last record was 117.5kg).  Man, plate slams ripped up the slightly softening calluses on my hands – time to build new ones (but it’s a good thing tomorrow is a rest day).

Prior to my leave I was having a few off days, so I guess that taking a break from lifting really can make the difference.  In hindsight, this really shouldn’t be a revelation – you can’t go 100% all the time.  Take a break, recharge, do things right.

This goes for everything in life, really.  Your brain’s not built to compute 24/7, let it rest and chill out.  Your stomach shouldn’t be working all the time, you don’t need to be constantly eating to be healthy.  Stretch this mentality to relationships, work, and all other aspects to life and I have a feeling you’ll have a pretty balanced and happy life.  This “meaning of life” moment brought to you by sweat, torn hands and iron.

Vi sees i morgen.

[Note: by the way, if you’ve ever wondered what gobbledygook I sign off most of my posts with, it’s Norwegian for “See you tomorrow”, or whenever what I write after “i” comes.]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

