Skip to content

Back a Changed Man

April 10, 2010

The Prodigal Son returns. A stint of church-seeing just made me think of this.

Hello everyone, I’m back from my Euro-trip to Berlin, Amsterdam, Brugges, and Brussels!  Yes, it was awesome.  More than awesome, in fact.  This trip was a much needed repose from the tedium of school, the unending struggle of job hunting, and a longing for old friends.  Thinking alone, I have a new perspective on what I want to do with business, school, and just life in general.  2-ish weeks of beer, illicit food, culture and nightlife does a soul good, apparently.

What wonders the trip has done for my soul, it’s done the complete opposite for my body, though.  My devil-may-care attitude towards dropping the paleo diet has left me in ruins.  Heartburn, lethargy, worse reflexes and depth-perception, hangnails, and a super-inflammed Achilles Tendon (though that owing to me walking everywhere, too) are just some of my problems.  Yes, these are all diet-related problems, that I can say for sure thanks to the nightmare that was this particular n=1 experiment.

And I’ve lost most of the work I’ve put into building a chiselled body.  It’s sad how 2 weeks can destroy whole months of work.  Since some readers really do want to see pictures of my with my shirt off, behold the most pathetic cathartic transformation known to mankind:

Right when I touch down in Bergen – January:

Tubby!

At my prime.  Right before my trip in March:

Spartan!

And right back to where I started – now:

Pathetic!

Guess what?  Beer, fries, Turkish street food, and chocolate aren’t good for your physique!  Shocking, I know.  Well I, the intrepid blogger whose work you adore, did 2 weeks of studies just to find that out for everyone.  You’re welcome.

My answer will be to go cold-turkey on a stupid-strict, as close as possible to zero-carb, Paleo diet for the next 2 weeks.  No dairy.  No drinking.  Not even fruit.  Might be extreme, but let me tell you, I feel like absolute crap.  This must happen.

I’ve also learned that living in Norway makes one price-sensitive, just in the weirdest way.  You shop and pinch pennies every opportunity you get in the country. Abroad, though, even the tab for a pricey meal elicits something along the lines of “Well, sure, it’s expensive, I guess.  Buuut … it’s cheaper than in Norway, so what the hell”.  I went a little over budget.

So for the next few weeks, stay tuned for posts of my struggle to return to my former glory intermingled with recaps and retrospectives of my trip.  Yeah, I know that blogs are supposed to be in the moment, but let’s just face it, I was having a blast on my trip, and the last thing I wanted to do was sit in the hostel to press out a post.

Vi sees i mandag.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 9:07 pm

    Nick – the path from ‘tubby’ to ‘Spartan’ to ‘pathetic’ is well trodden! We have all been there. Get back on that paleo waggon and you know you’ll be a Spartan once more by summer.

    Regards,

    • April 11, 2010 9:15 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement! I know. It took me a month to get there, two if you count the start of the Stronglifts 5×5. I’ll be ripped just in time for exams to start here in Norway, hahah!

Leave a Reply

