Skip to content

Where is Nick Going?

March 26, 2010

I’ve been missing these past few days from the blogosphere, and for good reason.  As I mentioned before, I was writing an essay, then relaxing from writing that essay.  Then I was planning my flashpacking trip through Europe.  Yes, I’m leaving this town, that so often has felt like a cage, albeit a very gilded one.

Where am I going?  I’m taking a train from Bergen to Oslo, a daytime adventure that is sure to exhaust my camera’s memory before I even get anywhere far.  From Oslo I go to Stockholm just to overnight (I literally will be sleeping on an airport bench that night).

Then it’s Stockholm to Berlin, where I stay for 2 days.  This is the official beginning of my trip, and a goodie.  The two must-see places on my list are the Berlin Wall and Checkpoint Charlie.  I’m a bit of a history buff, so being able to see what I’ve read in so many books in real life is something that I really am looking forward to.  I’m also going to be Dan, a guy that is one of the few people that I truly call a friend.  Much hilarity will ensue, that’s for sure.

What am I, budding primal living acolyte, going to be eating?  Pemmican, nuts, and jerky?  Nope.  Just this once, I’m throwing my diet straight out the window.  The regional specialty in Berlin, according to WikiTravel: currywurst.  Yup, a hotdog covered in curry.  Washed down with a good pint for good measure.  Life is meant to be lived, and I live to eat.  That’s the whole point of travel.

From Berlin I travel to Dusseldorf and take a bus to Amsterdam, where I will be staying for 4 days.  This is the raison d’etre for this trip.  I want to see the canals.  Van Gogh’s museum.  Sit at a coffee shop and just watch the people go by, then take a trip through the Flower Market.  I’m a fan of freestyling, and that’s exactly what I plan on doing while there.  No rigid walking tours of the entire world.  There are 4 distinct districts in the city centre, and 3 larger areas surrounding that.  I have time to just be there.  Sounds divine.  A trip to the Heineken Brewery is in order, along with the munching of copious amounts of frites.

The last leg of the tour ends with a bang.  I meet my good friend Natalia, who has put up with me ever since being arbitrarily seated next to me first day at Ivey, in Bruges.  The pictures of the city look amazing.  And I hear the chocolate and beer are the boss.  Don’t forget the moules frites, mussels and fries.  We then finish up by heading to Brussels, and I hitch a cheap flight back to Oslo in time for school the next weekend.

This entire trip is fitting into a teensy backpack (and onto teensy me).  What’s it got in there?

  • Camera: Canon ELPH
  • Laptop: trusty Macbook
  • iPod
  • 2 button-down shirts
  • 4 synthetic t-shirts
  • 1 pair jeans
  • 1 pair slacks
  • 7 pairs of underwear
  • 7 pairs of socks
  • A rainjacket
  • My trusty hiking boots
  • My dream book

Small enough that I can carry this onto the plane, large enough – and packed well enough – that I’ll have enough room to bring back some souvenirs and duty-free liquor.  Mmmm.

Blogging has saved me the past month and a bit.  It’s about the only thing that’s truly engaged my brain here save for computer games (which I only succumbed to this week post-essay).  Other than changing what I’ve been eating, this trip is the only thing that’s gotten me revved up here.  And despite the hype that I’ve heaped onto the next 14 days, I have a gut feeling it’s going to be even better.

If I forget to blog on the trip, ha en god Påske, og vi sees når vi sees.  Have a good Easter, and see you when I see you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dave Munroe permalink
    March 27, 2010 1:20 am

    Don’t bother with the Heineken Brewery…it’s not actually the brewery and your 14 euros is much better spent elsewhere. Also worth visiting is the Anne Frank House in Amsterdam.

Leave a Reply

