Skip to content

A Personal Wishlist: Books at My Fingertips

March 19, 2010

Pretty nerdy wish, huh?

I’m typically a voracious pleasure reader – the exception being during research intensive parts of university, for obvious reasons.  Now that I’m living abroad, access to good books has been something I miss immensely.  Nothing beats boredom like a massive library.

Compound that by the growing list of non-fiction that I’ve been itching to get my hands on, the short-list of which includes:

  • The Omnivores Dilemma by Michael Pollan (OK, more like all of the books written by him)
  • The Primal Blueprint by Mark Sisson
  • Fat: An Appreciation of a Misunderstood Ingredient with Recipes by Jennifer McLagan
  • The Innovators Dillemma by Clayton Christensen (because I’m a business student, after all)

The Kindle and recent iPad just might be the solutions to my instantaneous jonesing.  But does a $250-$450 right-to-play make sense?  Maybe, maybe not.  Other than The Seven Habits of Highly Effective Teens, never have I bought or asked for a book as a gift.  The library has always been good enough.

But what if your library isn’t up to snuff.  Or you’re on extended travels, like me.  Or you’re searching for slightly obscure books.  I suppose I’ll suffer until I can reach my library again.  In the meantime, if you can get your mitts on those books, read them and tell me if they’re worth it.

Vi sees.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

