Skip to content

Waste Not

March 18, 2010

The best parts are the eyes and cheeks

Traditional Western sensibilities don’t really see fish-head soup as appealing.  But for me, this is comfort food.  Spicy-sour salmon head soup was something I grew up on.  This wasn’t spicy, nor too sour, but it definitely tasted good.

The carcass of the sea trout I filleted a while ago, onions, carrots, cabbage, and mushrooms.  Pepper and lemon to taste.  I not only got a great meal, but enough soup to sustain me for three more meals with added meat.  Head-to-tail cooking is primal, cost-efficient, and just plain good eats.

Vi sees.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 1:03 pm

    I’m bookmarking this to remind me to make such a soup if/when I catch some fish. That looks delicious! I’ve never had fish heads in any incarnation, and your photo and description make it sound yummy and comforting.

  2. March 18, 2010 1:29 pm

    Thanks, Lucky. No joke, the best parts of a fish head are its cheeks and eyes. Try it before you judge, they’re great!

    • March 19, 2010 6:26 pm

      Well I am eating elk brains for lunch today, so fish cheeks are “normal” but those standards, ha ha!

      • March 20, 2010 10:21 am

        Oh, wow. Consider me one-upped. What does it taste like?

Leave a Reply

