Skip to content

Tea: My New Love Affair

March 17, 2010

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a sucker for a good french-pressed coffee.  Or a doppio espresso, for that matter.  But let’s face it, the coffee (especially at the Statoil) is crap here.  So I’ve entered the realm of tea.

Why tea?

  • I don’t particularly need to be 100% mentally alert at 8am everyday anymore, unlike at Ivey (I don’t really need to be mentally alert, period, here).  No need for coffee, which I only drink before 12pm anyways.
  • It’s a nice break from water, especially since Norway is cold.
  • I can vary my tea flavours and origins without things spoiling.  I have my brand of coffee and I stay with that, especially for freshness’ sake.
  • I feel alert without the bug-eyed, buzzy feeling I get with coffee.
  • When I actually do need to be a bug-eyed and buzzy again, coffee will work better.
  • Tea’s chock-full of antioxidants and goodness.  But who cares, it tastes good.  Ingesting everything primarily for health’s sake is just sad.

I go through a large pot of green tea everyday (I’ve actually liberated a french press from the common dishes to use as a tea pot).  Lipton sells some tasty green tea in those new pyramid bags.  I’ve also just tried Lipton’s green gunpowder tea, whose taste and mouthfeel I can only describe as a buttery-clean feel.  Cold, I feel like I’m drinking spring.  Delicious.

I do have some black tea, specially reserved for times when I need to wake up.  That stuff I drink by the cup sparingly, because it’s cheap junk, too.  I’d kill for a good cup of darjeeling or lapsang souchong, though.

Vi sees.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ludmila permalink
    March 17, 2010 9:12 am

    Good Morning Nick! I do love tea too, but now I really need a cup of coffee , I need to keep alert my mind right now for the assignment! 😦

  2. March 17, 2010 12:26 pm

    Ooooooooooooh I miss miss miss (times a million) my coffee and tea. I gave them up a couple of weeks ago when I started my hardcore paleo challenge. I actually dreamed about Earl Grey tea the other night. Gunpowder tea is perfection. Yum.

    • March 17, 2010 4:25 pm

      Ah, I feel your pain. I gave up coffee when I went primal, too. But I find the tea works wonders during intermittent fasting. Also gives me something social to do with friends – tea and a chat.

      • March 18, 2010 1:05 pm

        It’s hard to be social, at least at work, without a cup of something or other. Right now, thanks to my hardcore challenge, that cup must be filled with water. I am going to forage this weekend and find some local sticks and whatnot to make tea from. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tea: My New Love Affair « Amongst Giants | Today Headlines

Leave a Reply

