Skip to content

This Is Sparta!

March 15, 2010

Step 1 in self-improvement: find someone to emulate

When it came out back in first year, I was enamoured with the movie 300.  I still am, in fact.  Why?  Its well-driven plot, evocative themes, stunning cinematography, and of course the 300+ very ripped dudes.  Now those actors look like they could actually handle themselves in a true fight, not just playing at it on-screen.  That Spartan body’s been my goal for going on 4 years now.

When I arrived on the shores of Norway 2 months ago (I just realized I should have been saying two all this time … January, February, now March, after all), I was hardly the picture of health.  A bike tire of considerable size ran around my middle, and I’m quite sure that running any respectable distance was beyond my capabilities.  A sad degradation from my rugby days so long ago.

Though you’re not going to get my before/after shots (does the internet really need to see me shirtless?), I’m happy to report that I’m nearly there.  I look at myself and I see a 6-pack, developed shoulders, and defined pecs.  My 31 waist skinny jeans fit loosely on me – down from an at-times 34 (unfortunately, most of the clothes in my possession fit loosely).  What’s more, I actually feel good about the way I look.  In 2 months I’ve done what I couldn’t in 4 years.

So, yes, going primal will work for you, too.  You are what you eat, and changing your diet will change your life.

But no one ever got anywhere without hard work.  Choosing what you eat is integral.  So is being dedicated (and smart) in the gym.  I was on the Stronglifts program 1 month before going primal, and that set the stage for every success I’ve had as a primal devotee.

Next time you shower, take a long, hard look at yourself in the mirror.  Be honest, no one else is looking.  Do you like what you see?  Would you be comfortable wandering shirtless on a crowded beach?  If you answered ‘no’, that’s not healthy – both physically and mentally.

Now change yourself to what would make you say “yes”.  You know where to start.

Vi sees.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt permalink
    March 15, 2010 6:52 pm

    Good job bud! Keep up the good work. Glad to see you happy with where you’re at. 🙂

  2. Jen permalink
    April 3, 2010 7:54 pm

    Congratulations Nick! And I think you’re wrong- the internet definitely needs shirtless pictures of you 😉 You’re very inspirational- I definitely need to start following some of your advice.

Leave a Reply

