Skip to content

A Personal Wishlist: To Go Hunting

March 11, 2010

Future dinner

One thing about me, I can become an avid anything.  I get weird compulsive urges to do something, then I’ll do it to death.  Perhaps this is the case with this blog.  That was the case with fishing (which I love, but am horrible at).  Hunting seems like it would be interesting.

But, poor Bambi!  Not really.  Here’s my logic.

Some of the most ecological, environmentally-oriented, objective people you can meet are true fisher(wo)men.  Not the yahoos with the speedboats and harpoon guns.  I’m talking about the dedicated fisherman who has the hatch for every season memorized, and gets very upset when something unbalances that.  The same would go for hunters, I’d imagine – just not the redneck with a very large gunlock variety.

Too often we forget where our food comes from. No, ground beef doesn’t come from the meat aisle in the supermarket.  It comes from a cute little cow (or thousands of cows, in the case of industrial beef).  It’s sort of hard to forget where your food came from when you caught it yourself.

I love meat. Love it.  The whole point of travel for me is to eat different things.  Deer, pheasant, and rabbit certainly aren’t your everyday, either.  But I’m concerned about the quality of the meat we eat these days – it’s probably slowly killing us.  Hunting kills two birds (deer, rabbit, antelope) with one stone – interesting, quality, sustainable meat that you harvested yourself.

The outdoors are fun. Moreover, you always see movie montages of father-son moments out in the woods hunting.  Seems like a cool tradition to pick up for Wong Jr.  Camping and fishing were a part of my childhood.  Why not add one more thing for the next generation?

Hunting has also passed the one-month test with me; where I sit on idea for a month, and if it’s still with me in a month it wasn’t just a passing fad.  We have a wilderness survival encyclopedia at my house from back when the whole family did Scouts.  The chapters surrounding food preparation and hunting have a well-broken spine thanks to 12 year-old me.  There’s no way this is a 9 year passing fad.

Now, my problem is that hunting, like fishing, is sort of hard to just pick up on-the-fly.  Those father-son traditions are the lessons.  Thankfully, there are a growing number of classes for metropolitan yuppies like me (with a nod to Hunt.Gather.Love, from whom I poached the link).  A class on how to shoot, prepare, and cook a deer?  Awesome.

Want to take me hunting when I get back?  Tell me in the comments.

Vi sees.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Louisa permalink
    March 11, 2010 11:49 am

    how do you feel about guns?

    • March 11, 2010 12:52 pm

      Guns? Well, I wouldn’t be averse to learning how to use a gun to hunt. If it means a quicker kill, and a higher kill success rate, I don’t see why not. Just seems like an interesting skill to have

      Bowhunting has also been interesting for me. From experience manning summer camps, I also know that I am a very decent shot from 30 yards with the junk bows most camps have.

      Trapping and snares also fascinate me, and that interest has been piqued even more when reading PrimalPrincess’ twitter posts on her squirrel trapping escapades.

  2. Louisa permalink
    March 11, 2010 2:15 pm

    I do not like the idea of guns, although my husband would like to learn to use one, so I am going to take a course in archery this summer and learn trapping too. Yes, what a great read Primal princess is!

Leave a Reply

