Skip to content

What’s On My Plate: Røkt Svineknoke

March 10, 2010

Translated as smoked pork knuckle, this gem packs a hefty amount of delicious fat.  Some clues lead me to believe that this dish is often served during Octoberfest, but please don’t quote me on that.  The recipe and more pictures follow.

The recipe:

  1. Put the knuckle in enough unsalted boiling water to cover, reduce temperature to a simmer.  Cover and let soak for 3 hours.
  2. Suspend the knuckle in a baking pan over a rack.  Coat with small layer of butter or ghee.
  3. Place into 225ºC oven for 30 minutes, or until skin becomes slightly crisp.
  4. Let rest for a few minutes before serving.

Make sure to buy the lightly salted variety.  I bought the value brand, and it was still salty after a 3 hour bath.

Mmm, plenty of fat.  I served mine with tomato-glazed cauliflower.  And mustard.  I have a new love affair with mustard – it makes all meats taste kingly.  I’m chowing down on Maille since it is one of the few mustards to be had in Norway sans sugar, veg oil, or otherwise.  Some preservatives and colouring, perhaps, but not enough to bother me considering the amount of real food I eat otherwise.

Vi sees.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Louisa permalink
    March 11, 2010 1:52 am

    Hi, its Louisa from Paleohacks.com, I just answered your question re: travelling in Europe and thought I would check your blog out, I like it! This dish looks great, I would love to try it.

    Have fun on your travels, very interested to see where you go…have you a set itinerary?

    Lou x

    • March 11, 2010 1:58 am

      Thanks, Lousia.

      Yeah, I’m in Berlin for 2 days, Amsterdam for 4, Bruges for 3, and Brussels for 2. I use Oslo and Stockholm as stopping points, but I’m not inclined to wander those two cities compared the bang-for-buck I can get with the other cities.

      In other words, my travel-come-primal blog will revert back to travel for a week.

      Great blog, by the way, I just checked it out. Subscribed.

Leave a Reply

