Skip to content

I’m Not Dead (Yet)

February 16, 2010

Ah, don’t become alarmed.  I’m not sick, in prison, or anything disastrous.  I’ve just not been able to muster the motivation to write a blog post, recently.

I’m in school.  School gets boring (especially for someone in their last year of undergrad).  Mom and Dad always wonder why whenever I come home I always gab about the music I’ve listened to, bars I’ve been, food I’ve eaten, antics I’ve gotten up to.  That’s the fun part of life.

I could fill this blog with all the trivialities that I’m learning, but unless you would like a history lesson, or formulas on how to calculate kinetic energy, I doubt that will be interesting.

I could keep this a travel blog, but then this would be empty.  There are quite a few parties set-up for the international students here (for instance, I just went to one celebrating Carnival, where I dressed up as a cowboy), but I never bring my camera for fear of loosing/breaking it.  And all we do is drink, anyways.  Because of school, I also have limited time to travel Europe (and I don’t feel like blowing hundreds of dollars on weekend excursions).  That being said, a bunch of us have scheduled some time to go to Poland in March (around $45 round-trip!  And we’ve got a Polish guy in the group to show us around).  That I will keep you updated about.

Unlike Ikke Norsk Girl, I am absolutely rubbish at Norwegian for now.  I’m working on that.  But our teacher also teaches the language in an incredibly unstructured way, so it’s hard to impart definitive knowledge of Norwegian to you all.  For instance, I know how to use the possessive for ‘me’ and ‘you’, but ‘ours’, ‘theirs’, and ‘yours’ are right out.

The outcome from this stream of consciousness writing …?

I’m going to break one of the fundamental laws of blogging, “Write for a specific audience on a specific topic”.  Well, now your topic is me.  Oh yeah, not as interesting now, but for the most part this blog was meant to connect with people back home (who I hope are interested in me).  So I’m going to write about what I enjoy:

  • Travel (when I get the chance)
  • Environmentalism
  • Business
  • Food
  • Drink
  • Fitness
  • Music
  • Books
  • Movies

Yes, a kitchen sink blog.  But in the grand scheme of things (and tipping a hat towards chaos theory and fractal geometry) from the random a pattern will emerge.  Much construction on the blog will ensue, just give me patience.

Vi Sees.

One Comment leave one →
  1. ikkenorskgirl permalink
    February 17, 2010 4:55 pm

    Du kan klare det! (You can do it/get there!)

    It’s a shame you don’t have time to travel around Europe though 😦 Might as well take advantage of it while you’re “on the continent”, especially seeing as Norwegian has super cheap flights… maybe when you’re done studying you could take a fortnight-month and get a Eurorail pass and travel round (think it’s like erm… 300Euros or sth- Mr. Google’ll help you out with that ;)) Have a supercool time in Poland though!

    But yeah anyways…I think the new blog post “programme” seems like a good way to go – you defo need to write about what you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

