Skip to content

How I’m Becoming a Viking, Pt.1: Lifting Stuff

February 16, 2010

Last semester I can count the number of times I worked out on one hand.  Sure, I was a football coach, but unless a new study has shown that strategizing and reciting motivational speeches does wonders for your cardio that doesn’t count.  So I was rail thin coming into the winter break, then sporting an impressive beer gut post-vacation.  How am I going to bring home the Norwegian girl of my dreams?  Time to change.

All of this started after I watched Food Inc. one day (and if you haven’t seen it, please watch it!).  Next thing I knew I was delving back into the blinding realm of internet fitness articles and blogs.  I’ve never been a fan of fad diets or get-ripped-quick fitness regimens; health isn’t just a part of life, it is life.  Enter the Stronglifts 5×5.

Basically it’s a 3/week workout that focuses on building maximal strength through compound exercises.  Think squats, chinups, and bench press.  The program’s efficient, and it works.  4 weeks lifting – albeit not starting from the recommended beginning weight – and I can do one-handed pushups on my weakside arm.  I haven’t been able to do that since rugby 4 years ago.  And I’m not ashamed to take my shirt off anymore (well, I’ve never really been, but now I have something to be proud of doing it).

Why am I telling you this?  Because you, my dear readers, are my friends and family (literally), and I want everyone to be healthy.  This program was written and geared for beginners.  As in lifting just-the-bar-and-nothing-else-to-start beginners.  And girls, I swear this won’t make you “chunky”.  That just isn’t possible.  But do you know what is?  Check this out:

Yeah, so she’s lifting more than I am right now (the largest black plates are 45lbs each, so’s the bar), and I don’t see bursting veins or a USSR-era, Eastern Bloc look.

Bottom line is, if you’re unsatisfied with your current workout regimen, or want to get into shape but don’t know how, give the Stronglift site a gander.  Want to get started? Click here.  My recommendations?  Follow the weightlifting guide like law, then check out the 5×5’s extensive FAQ on how to incorporate cardio into the mix, as well.

Stay tuned for more installments.

Vi Sees.

(See Part 2 here)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. willis permalink
    February 16, 2010 4:00 pm

    Is this Take 2 of becoming a Spartan like in first year?

    • February 16, 2010 4:05 pm

      Sort of, but there’s more too it than just the lifting.

      That being said, it’s working! I’m training at (all in kgs) 85 squat, 100 deadlift, 60 bench, and 40 overhead press. Last time I saw those numbers was when we worked out in grade 12 together.

  2. Erica permalink
    April 9, 2010 5:23 pm

    definitely sounds intriguing, I might try it out once school’s done.

Trackbacks

  1. How I’m Becoming a Viking, Pt.2: Eating Stuff « Amongst Giants

Leave a Reply

