Skip to content

Landing in Norway, Part 1: Arrival

January 7, 2010

Hello everyone.  Apologies for the radio silence.  When I arrived in Bergen, I actually didn’t have an internet connection until the school officially opened.  My only contact was a quick run into an internet cafe (at about 1 kroner per minute), just to make sure Mum and Dad didn’t think I was dead.

The plane ride was smooth, and I slept most of the way to Copenhagen.  I was seated next to another Canadian – from Toronto, of all places.  She was was going back to Amsterdam for her 4th year of ballet training.  After a short layover, it was an hour and a half jet to Bergen.  I love Scandinavian planes.  Even the economy seats were extra roomy – so roomy, in fact, that I could swing my legs freely.  All the tall people on the plane were very jealous of travel-sized moi.

Jason met me at the bus station (I took a bus in to the city centre).  Then the pain began.  Hatleberg Residence is about an hours walk from downtown.  But it’s more like two hours when hampered by 100 pounds of luggage.  You see, we didn’t know how to use the busses, and a taxi would have costed nearly 50 bucks, not kroners.  So being the strong, able men we were, we trekked all the way home.  Bergen is not only hilly, but is currently suffering the worst winter in history.  Needless to say, my back hurt.  A lot.

Stay tuned for Part 2, where I will be taking everyone shopping.  Then afterwards, a recap of the Welcome Week I’m currently participating in.  But before I leave you, take a look at the view from my window (maybe I will update this weekly) …

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    January 7, 2010 9:13 am

    “travel sized me”- hahahahaha love it! so excited to follow along on your adventure. miss you ❤

  2. January 7, 2010 6:21 pm

    As awesome a time as I am having, still miss you, too.

  3. Uncle Warren permalink
    January 8, 2010 2:53 pm

    You should have applied a Norwegian/Canadian solution — attach skis to the bottom of your 100 pounds of luggage! Glad to hear you’ve landed in Bergen.

  4. Erica permalink
    January 12, 2010 3:44 pm

    OMG! That’s a lot of snow 😛 but nice shot :). lol glad to see you made it one piece ^_^

Leave a Reply

